Graphic Black and White Portrait on Blue

So I promised to post some new work in my last update.  So here is that blue canvas I had started.  I’m finally painting a portrait that a friend of mine asked for several years ago.  Oops.  But now it is half-finished already!  Here is a photo of how the original image with some editing looks projected onto the already canvas.

I purchased this projector to make little drawings and photos easier to blow up into a larger format.  It may be considered corner cutting by some, but the original images are always my own work or I have the permission of the photographer to use it.  I would paint less if it were more difficult to increase the size of my desired image, so for now I love to use it.  I probably don’t have to justify this at all, but it’s an interesting topic to me.  Will some artists consider me less credible as a painter if I don’t create the canvas sized image with conventional transfer techniques?  I certainly don’t, if the original image is my own work is this tha dissimilar to using Photoshop?  It’s a tool. OK.

I needed to get that out apparently.

Here is a photo of the first stage of painting.

I plan to add the “black” areas next and see what that looks like before I add the hair and mid-tones.  I will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

